clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Braves shut out of BBWAA Awards

New, 105 comments

Atlanta will have to make do with a World Series title.

2021 World Series Game 2: Atlanta Braves v. Houston Astros Photo by Daniel Shirey/MLB Photos via Getty Images

Finalists for the Baseball Writer’s Association of America end of season awards were announced Monday night with the winners to be revealed next week. No Atlanta Braves made the cut this year but I’m sure getting a World Series ring more than offsets that.

Voting happens before the postseason, but the case could be made for Brian Snitker with everything the Braves overcame to win their fourth consecutive decision title. Giants manager Gabe Kapler is the favorite and St. Louis’ late season run most likely catapulted Mike Shildt. Ironically, Shildt was fired by the Cardinals following the season.

Austin Riley will likely receive some down ballot MVP votes but never really had a realistic shot at cracking the Top 3. Winners will be announced November 15-18 at 6 p.m. ET on MLB Network.

National League

Manager of the Year - Craig Counsell, Gabe Kapler, Mike Shildt

Rookie of the Year - Dylan Carlson, Jonathan India, Trevor Rogers

Cy Young Award - Corbin Burnes, Max Scherzer, Zack Wheeler

MVP Award - Bryce Harper, Juan Soto, Fernando Tatis Jr.

American League

Manager of the Year - Dusty Baker, Kevin Cash, Scott Servais

Rookie of the Year - Randy Arozarena, Wander Franco, Luis Garcia

Cy Young Award - Gerrit Cole, Lance Lynn, Robbie Ray

MVP Award - Vladimir Guerrero Jr., Shohei Ohtani, Marcus Semien