clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Bryce Harper, Vladimir Guerrero Jr. take home 2021 Hank Aaron Awards

New, 4 comments

Freddie Freeman was a finalist in the National League.

MLB: Philadelphia Phillies at Miami Marlins Jim Rassol-USA TODAY Sports

Phillies outfielder Bryce Harper and Blue Jays first baseman Vladimir Guerrero Jr. were announced Tuesday night as the recipients of the 2021 Hank Aaron Award for the National and American League. Harper is now a two-time winner having also won the award back in 2015. The Braves’ Freddie Freeman won the award in 2020 and was a finalist again this season.

The Hank Aaron Award is awarded annually to the best offensive performer in each league. The award was introduced in 1999 to mark the 25th anniversary of Hank Aaron breaking Babe Ruth’s all-time home run record. The winners are determined by a panel of Hall of Famers along with fan voting.

National League Finalists

Nick Castellanos - Reds
Brandon Crawford - Giants
Freddie Freeman - Braves
Paul Goldschmidt - Cardinals
Bryce Harper - Phillies
Juan Soto - Nationals
Fermando Tatis Jr. - Padres

American League Finalists

Vladimir Guerrero Jr. - Blue Jays
Aaron Judge - Yankees
Cedric Mullins - Orioles
Shohei Ohtani - Angels
Matt Olson - Athletics
Salvador Perez - Royals
Jose Ramirez - Guardians