clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Freddie Freeman named Wilson Defensive Player of the Year at First Base

New, 5 comments

Another defensive honor for Freddie Freeman.

Divisional Round - Los Angeles Dodgers v Atlanta Braves - Game Three Photo by Rob Carr/Getty Images

More defensive accolades came Freddie Freeman’s way Wednesday night when he was named Wilson Defensive Player of the Year for first base. The Wilson defensive awards recognize the top defender at each position across the majors.

Freeman led the National League with 12 defensive runs saved and had a 7.8 ultimate zone rating. He appeared in all 162 games for the Braves in 2018 and was honored with his first Rawlings Gold Glove award last Sunday.

“It’s a great honor to win the Wilson Defensive Player of the Year Award,” said Freeman. “Defense plays such an important part in winning games, and as an organization we had a goal coming into this season to improve ours. We are thankful for the efforts of our analytics department, and for our coaches who dedicated time to working with us every day to help us get better.”

Freeman is the fourth different Atlanta player to take home the award. Andrelton Simmons earned three consecutive awards from 2013-2015 and Jason Heyward took one home in 2014.

Oakland third baseman Matt Chapman was named Wilson Defensive Player of the Year while the Arizona Diamondbacks were Defensive Team of the Year.

Here is a complete list of the award winners:

Pitcher - Zach Greinke, Arizona Diamondbacks
Catcher - Mike Zunino, Seattle Mariners
First Base - Freddie Freeman, Atlanta Braves
Second Base - DJ LeMahieu, Colorado Rockies
Third Base - Matt Chapman, Oakland Athletics
Shortstop - Andrelton Simmons, Los Angeles Angels
Left Field - Alex Gordon, Kansas City Royals
Center Field - Kevin Kiermaier, Tampa Bay Rays
Right Field - Mookie Betts, Boston Red Sox