25 for 25: Braves

I am actually a St. Louis Cardinals fan, but over the past few months I've been working on a roster for each franchise in the National League, composed of players over the last 25 years. The way this works is that I pick one player from each season and I have to fill out an entire roster (2 catchers, 2 infielders at each position, 6 total outfielders, 5 starting pitchers, 4 relievers). I can't take more than one player for each year, I have to take one player each season even in the bad years, and I can't use the same player for multiple positions. If a player played the majority of his games at one position, I can't use that season for another position even if he's played it before. And I used basically minimums of 60 innings or 250 PA's (prorated for strike seasons).

The interesting part with this are the decisions that have to be made, whether it is, "Dang there are some really nice outfielder seasons to choose from, who gets left out?", or, "Does this team even have two decent catchers in a 25-year span?", or, "This guy had so many great years - which one do I choose?" Sometimes a great year gets left out, sometimes a fluke, partial season gets tabbed for the team.

I actually posted the entire National League East on the SB Nation site Viva El Birdos (I will post the other divisions later), as well as an extended version for the Cardinals from 1910 to 1934 and (eventually) a post just like this at all of the other NL sites. You're welcome to pick apart my choices and make suggestions of your own. I'm looking forward to hearing from everybody.

C – Javy Lopez (1998), Brian McCann (2006)

1B – Bob Horner (1985), Mark Teixeira (2008)

2B – Jeff Treadway (1990), Marcus Giles (2003)

3B – Terry Pendleton (1992), Chipper Jones (2007)

SS – Jeff Blauser (1997), Rafael Furcal (2005)

OF – Dale Murphy (1987), Lonnie Smith (1989), David Justice (1993), Andruw Jones (2000), Garry Sheffield (2002), J.D. Drew (2004)

SP – Tom Glavine (1991), Greg Maddux (1994), John Smoltz (1996), Kevin Millwood (1999), Javier Vazquez (2009)

RP – Gene Garber (1986), Paul Assenmacher (1988), Mark Wohlers (1995), Mike Remlinger (2001)

Notable exceptions: Fred McGriff (1994), Andres Galarraga (1998), Kelly Johnson (2008), Edgar Renteria (2005), Yunel Escobar (2009), Ron Gant (1991), Rick Mahler (1985), Charlie Leibrandt (1990), Denny Neagle (1997), Tim Hudson (2007), Jair Jurrjens (2009), John Rocker (1999)

This FanPost does not express the views or opinions of Talking Chop.

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Talking Chop

You must be a member of Talking Chop to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Talking Chop. You should read them.

Join Talking Chop

You must be a member of Talking Chop to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Talking Chop. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.